JIRP Executive Director

Dr. Erin Whitney                                                                                                edubbs.jirp@gmail.com


JIRP Director, Academics and Research:

Dr. Matthew Beedle                                                                                           matt.jirp@gmail.com


JIRP Program Manager:

Annie Boucher                                                                                                    annie.jirp@gmail.com                                                                                        (907) 500-8913


Email Address:

All inquiries and comments can be sent directly to our main email account:



Formal Organization Address:

The Foundation for Glacier and Environmental Research
4616 25th Avenue NE, Suite 302
Seattle, WA 98105


Juneau Office (No Mail, Please!):

Juneau Icefield Research Program
24600 Amalga Harbor Road
Juneau, AK 99801*

Office Landline: (907) 586-0299**

Office Cell: (907) 500-8913

*We do not have a mailbox set up at our Amalga Harbor Road address. Please direct all mail to our PO Box. Thank you! 

**The Office Landline is open during the summer field season. Oct-May, please direct all phone calls to the Program Manager at the (907) 500-8913.


Participant and Summer Mailing Address:

Name of Participant
c/o FGER
P.O. Box 35054
Juneau, AK 99803




We want to hear from our JIRP alumni! 

Please submit your current contact information and let us know what you're up to.  You are our metric of success!  (NOTE:  Information submitted here will not be published in any form and use will be restricted to internal JIRP/FGER organizational and communication purposes.)

Phone *
Please enter the first year you were with JIRP
Please list any additional years you were with JIRP
Please give us an update on your life post-JIRP. We would love to hear from you and hope you are well.

Members of the first JIRP "high ice" expedition to the Juneau Icefield in the summer of 1948.  Left to right:  Maynard Miller, W. Laurence Miner, Lowell Chamberlain, Melvin G. Marcus, William A. Latady and Anthony W. Thomas.  Photo taken at Camp 4 on "Hades Highway," the upper Twin Glaciers' neve.  Photo:  FGER Archives

A multi-generation crew of JIRPers at the 2011 Geological Society of America Annual Meeting.  From left to right:  Dr. P. Jay Fleisher, Judy Pachter, Dr. Maynard Miller, Kate Baustian, Kent Walters, Coco Loehr, Dr. Bruce Molnia, Matt Beedle, and Toby Dittrich.  Photo:  M. J. Beedle

Drs. Maynard Miller, Richard Marston, and Alf Pinchak on 'Taku B' in July 1995.  Photo:  M. J. Beedle

2004 JIRPers on top of 'Taku B'.  From left to right:  Kate Harris, Riley Hall, Evan Burgess, Keith (Laskowski) Ma, Winston Macdonald, and Robert Koenig.  Photo:  M. J. Beedle

Copyright 2014 Foundation for Glacier and Environmental Research (FGER), unless otherwise noted.